Tuesday, 24 January 2017

Indian National Flag Colors Significance & Importance of Ashoka Chakra

Indian National Flag Colors Significance: The National Flag of India is a national symbol designed in horizontal rectangular shape. It is designed using three colours such as deep saffron (top most), white (middle) and India green (lower most). The middle white colour contains navy blue Ashoka Chakra (means Wheel of Law) in the centre having 24 spokes in the wheel. The present form of the national flag was adopted in the meeting of Constituent Assembly on 22nd of July in 1947. The present Indian Flag was declared as the official flag by the authority of India. As Indian Flag contains three colours, it is also called as Tiranga. It is based on Swaraj flag (means flag of Indian National Congress, designed by Pingali Venkayya).



The flag of India -- called the Tiranga, meaning tricolor -- has three horizontal bars of saffron, white and green, and is embossed in the middle with a blue wheel. It was adopted on July 24, 1947, in the wake of India’s independence from the British, and it is made only from khadi, domestically spun Indian cotton, as a symbol of nationalism and freedom.


The topmost part of the national flag is designed using saffron colour which indicates courage and selflessness of the nation. It is a merely significant color to the religion of Hindu, Buddhist and Jain religions as it signifies renunciation and the absolution of the ego.Saffron colour is of great significance which reminds political leaders to devote towards the nation as well as perform their work dedicatedly only for the goodness of the nation without seeking any personal benefits.



The middle part of the Indian national flag is designed using white colour which represents the honesty, purity and peace of the nation. In philosophy of Indian the white also represents the cleanliness and knowledge. It merely signifies the light and the path of truth to guide India’s national conduct.


The green stripe which is on the bottom half of the flag represents the faith, fertility and prosperity. According to the philosophy of India, green colour is a festive and stabilizing color which represents the life and happiness. It indicates the greenery of earth all over the India. It reminds the Indian political leaders to lead the country by protecting the Indian soil from destruction by both, external and internal enemies.


The Ashoka Chakra is a depiction of the Buddhist Dharmachakra, represented with 24 spokes. It is so called because it appears on a number of edicts of Ashoka, most prominent among which is the Lion Capital of Sarnath which has been adopted as the National Emblem of the Republic of India.
The Chakra signifies that there is a life in 'Movement' and 'Death' in stagnation. The process of the wheel stands for cycle or the self repeating process with the changing of time in our life. India should no more resist change, it must move and go forward.

The spoked Ashoka Chakra which is placed in the center of the flag is merely replaced the Gandhian spinning wheel to add up the historical “depth” and separate and change the Indian National Congress flag to that of the Indian flag. This Dharma Chakra merely depicted the “wheel of the law” in the Sarnath Lion Capital which is made by the 3rd-century BC the Mauryan Emperor Ashoka.



The 24 spokes of the Dharmachakra represent:
1. Love
2. Courage
3. Patience
4. Peacefulness
5. Magnanimity
6. Goodness
7. Faithfulness
8. Gentleness
9. Selflessness
10. Self-control
11. Self sacrifice
12. Truthfulness
13. Righteousness
14. Justice
15. Mercy
16. Gracefulness
17. Humility
18. Empathy
19. Sympathy
20. Spiritual knowledge
21. Moral Values
22. Spiritual Wisdom
23. The fear of God
24. Faith or Believe or Hope

For more updates and latest notification on this stay tuned with us!!

Searches related to Indian National Flag Colors Significance

  • who is the founder of indian national flag
  • indian flag in hindi
  • indian flag emoji
  • indian flag pictures
  • indian flag wallpaper hd
  • indian national flag wallpaper
  • indian flag image
  • indian flag colors


Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.